The Yin & Yang of Work Life Balance

Posted: June 9, 2012 in Thinking

I really like Hugh MacLeod’s little cartoons. Every day he sends a cartoon to subscribers for free. Every day he makes me think. Today he made me think a lot:

Hugh notes:

Like Jack Welch, the former CEO of G.E. famously quipped, there is no work/life balance, there is only work/life choices.

I somewhat agree and somewhat disagree. Balance comes from doing what you love. If you hate what you do then you try to balance it with something that you love that isn’t your work and, therefore, the idea of balancing work life against personal life. If you make your work your passion then balance comes much more naturally.

I like my work a lot. My passions are evolving.

Leave a Reply

